14
Jun
09

Artist to Watch – Grant Gould

Grant Gould
Website
Deviant Art

2009_Sketchbook_Cover_by_grantgoboom
Grant is a great guy, and an amazing artist on top of that. I have more original Grant Gould pieces in my art collection then any other artist. I have had the chance to talk to him at a number of different conventions and he is always one of the most polite and down to earth artist at the cons. I have been collecting his yearly sketch books from the very first time I meet him and waiting very patiently for him to put a comic out. This past year that wait finally came to an end. Grant finally had a book coming out!

The_Wolves_of_Odin_by_grantgoboom This past year SUPER REAL GRAPHICS published Grant’s first book. The Wolves of Odin summed up as brief as can be is Vikings Vs. Werewolves. While the art in the book was everything that I had hoped it would be coming from Grant, I was a little let down. It ended way to soon. I was hoping so much for it to go on much longer then it did. Hopefully this is just the start and we will see more stories from Grant.

I think that Grant is best known for his work with the trading card companies doing sketch cards for the various sets. He has done sketch cards in way to many sets for me to even try to start listing here. He has also contributed the art for a base card in the Star Wars Galaxys volume 4 set as well as one of the Lord of the Rings card sets.

Star_Wars_Galaxy__Base_Card_by_grantgoboom

Of all the art that I have collected of Grant’s, I think by far my favorite is a Rocket Raccoon drawing that I bought off of him at last years FALLCON. I loved Rocket when he first showed up in Marvel Comics way back when and he is what got me to read the Annihilation miniseries from Marvel Comics which led me into the relaunch of the Guardians of the Galaxy. The Rocket drawing is not only one of my favorite pieces, but one of my top two favorites in my whole collection.

And now just to make you jealous… My Rocket Racoon picture of Grant’s

gould_rockracc400

3 Responses to “Artist to Watch – Grant Gould”


  1. June 14, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Nice! He is one of my faves too, I bought Wolves and his sketchbook this year.

  2. June 22, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Dude! .. Thanks so much for the nice words. 🙂 I’m flattered.

  3. 3 houseofduck
    June 22, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    My pleasure. Always like to hype the artist that I like…

    Not that I have a really large readership…


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Flickr Photos


